As previously announced, the Academy of Country Music has added a newly created award category in honor of the late Merle Haggard. The inaugural ACM Merle Haggard Spirit Award will be awarded to Miranda Lambert during the 10th Annual ACM Honors event.

“Merle was an integral part of the Academy’s history, and it was important to us that we honor his legacy. We couldn’t imagine anyone better suited to receive the first ever ACM Merle Haggard Spirit Award than Miranda,” said ACM EVP/Managing Director Tiffany Moon.

Hosted by Lady Antebellum on Tuesday, August 30 at the Ryman Auditorium in Nashville, The 10th ACM Honors will include performances by Jason Aldean, Kelsea Ballerini, Dierks Bentley, Luke Bryan, Cam, Toby Keith, Alicia Keys, Miranda Lambert, Maren Morris, Blake Shelton, Cole Swindell, Keith Urban, Chris Young, Dan + Shay and The Band Perry.

The 10th Annual ACM Honors will air on CBS, Friday, September 9 at 9pm ET.