Singer-songwriter and multi-instrumentalist Josh Kelley will release his highly-anticipated new album, New Lane Road, on Sugar Hill Records this Friday, April 22. Coming after a nearly five-year hiatus from the “Georgia Clay” singer, New Lane Road is an extremely personal project, reflecting on his marriage, family and home he and actress wife Katherine Heigl built for themselves and their two children in rural Utah.

“I think this is definitely the most honest album I’ve ever done,” Kelley says of the project. “I’m finally at a place that I have compiled enough experiences in traveling to actually have some real substance to write about. It’s all about the land that we live on now. My family and I live out in Utah out in the middle of nowhere. Conceptually, the whole album is rooted in that place.”

Kelley devoted himself wholeheartedly to the creative process for three years while making the album, which he produced, engineered, co-wrote and played most of the instruments himself. Listeners can experience New Lane Road early on NPR’s First Listen

“Throughout its dozen tracks, Kelley dwells on how accumulating life experience and forging significant attachments can transform slight insights into something more. He trots out thoroughly familiar fixations — feeling your mortality (‘One Foot In the Grave’), seizing the day (‘Life’s Too Short’), being saved from a solitary existence by a steadfast lover (‘The Rock Who Found A Rollin’ Stone’) — with warmth that lends them each new impact,” praises NPR’s Jewly Hight. “Kelley performs ‘The Best Of Me,’ a slow-burning, steel-guitar-laced ode to being emboldened by a life partner, with a dignity made subtler and more affecting by its softness around the edges.”

Kelley has released the video for lead single “It’s Your Move.” The clip co-stars Heigl, who also makes her directorial debut with the very personal video.

“Hiegl isn’t the only family member deeply connected to Kelley’s latest creative endeavor: his daughters can be heard on a few tracks, and his father John is featured on the title track, speaking words of wisdom and advice to his son.”

The full album is now available for preorder HERE.

New Lane Road Track Listing:

  1. “It’s Your Move” (Josh Kelley/Rachel Thibodeau/Ben Glover)
  2. “The Rock Who Found a Rollin’ Stone” (Josh Kelley)
  3. “Call It What It Is” (Josh Kelley/Charles Kelley/Alan Chang)
  4. “Take It On Back” (Josh Kelley/Charles Kelley/Tommy King)
  5. “The Best of Me” (Josh Kelley/Rachel Thibodeau/Kyle Jacobs)
  6. “New Lane Road” (Josh Kelley)
  7. “One Foot in the Grave” (Josh Kelley/Jesse Valenzuela/Danny Wilde)
  8. “Anywhere You Wanna Go” (Josh Kelley)
  9. “Cowboy Love Song” (Josh Kelley/Clint Lagerberg)
  10. “I’ll Be Standin’ Tall” (Josh Kelley)
  11. “Life’s Too Short” (Josh Kelley/Clint Lagerberg/Sean McConnell)
  12. “Only God Can Stop Her Now” (Josh Kelley/Rachel Thibodeau/Jason Sever)

Kelley will join his younger brother, Charles Kelley of Lady Antebellum this spring on The Driver Tour.

Josh Kelley Tour Dates
April 21 | New York, N.Y. | Rockwood Music Hall
April 23 | Anaheim, Calif. | House of Blues*
April 24 | San Jose, Calif. | Club Rodeo*
April 26 | LA, Calif. | Troubadour*
May 1 | Houston, Texas | House of Blues*
May 3 | Nashville, Tenn. | 3rd And Lindsley*
May 4 | Nashville, Tenn. | 3rd And Lindsley*
May 6 | Athens, Ga. | Georgia Theater*
*Denotes The Driver tour dates

For more information, visit or follow on Twitter @JoshBKelley and