The Academy of Country Music announced today the Song of the Year and Songwriter of the Year nominees for the 51ST ACADEMY OF COUNTRY MUSIC AWARDS®, Country Music’s Party of the Year® co-hosted by Luke Bryan and Dierks Bentley from MGM Grand Garden Arena in Las Vegas, NV on Sunday, April 3rd at 8:00PM live ET/delayed PT on the CBS Television Network.

The nominations news was first shared this morning via Rolling Stone Country, who partnered with the Academy to break the news on these important categories.

“The ACM Board of Directors recently voted to revise the prestigious Song of the Year Award criteria to allow the greater songwriting community a stronger voice in determining the final nominees,” said Tiffany Moon, Executive Vice President and Managing Director of the Academy of Country Music.  “Songwriters are at the inception of all of this; we’re privileged to have their expertise in choosing the most well-crafted songs.”  A professional panel comprised entirely of award-winning songwriters helped select the nominees for the category that were then voted on by the Composer class of ACM Membership to appear on the final ballot.

SONG OF THE YEAR NOMINEES (Awarded to Songwriter(s)/Publisher(s)/Artist(s)

  • Burning HouseCam
  • Songwriters: Jeffrey Bhasker, Tyler Johnson, Cam
    Publishers: Marvelous Oaks Records (ASCAP), Creative Pulse Music (BMI), One Year Yesterday Publishing (BMI), Sony/ATV Songs LLC (BMI), These Are Pulse Songs (BMI), Way Above Music (BMI)

  • Girl CrushLittle Big Town
  • Songwriters: Hillary Lindsey, Lori McKenna, Liz Rose
    Publishers: HillarodyRathbone Music (ASCAP), Hoodie Songs (BMI), Songs of Crazy Girl Music (BMI), Songs of Universal Inc (BMI), Warner-Tamerlane Publishing Corp. (BMI)

  • Nobody To BlameChris Stapleton
  • Songwriters: Chris Stapleton, Barry Bales, Ronnie Bowman
    Publishers: House of Sea Gayle Music (ASCAP), WB Music Corp (ASCAP), Quackhead Music (BMI), RayLynn Publishing (BMI)

  • Raise ‘Em UpKeith Urban Featuring Eric Church
  • Songwriters: Tom Douglas, Jaren Johnston, Jeffrey Steele
    Publishers: Jeffrey Steele Music (BMI), Sony/ATV Tree Publishing (BMI), TomDouglasMusic (BMI),  Sony/ATV Harmony (ASCAP), Texa Rae Music (ASCAP)

  • She Don’t Love YouEric Paslay
  • Songwriters: Eric Paslay, Jennifer Wayne
    Publishers: Five Stone Publishing (ASCAP), Spirit Two Nashville (ASCAP), Songwriters of Platinum Pen Publishing (BMI)


  • Rodney Clawson
  • Ross Copperman
  • Ashley Gorley
  • Shane McAnally
  • Josh Osborne