Winners in two of the 12 CMA Awards categories were announced live on “Good Morning America” this morning from the Bridgestone Arena in Nashville, which is the site of “The 47th Annual CMA Awards.”

The news was delivered by GMA anchor Robin Roberts and welcomed with cheers from thousands of fans gathered on the plaza at the Bridgestone Arena waiting to watch three-time CMA Awards nominee Luke Bryan perform.

“We got a jump start on ‘Country Music’s Biggest Night™’ by announcing our winners on ‘Good Morning America’ and sharing the news with the GMA viewers and the enthusiastic fans here in Nashville,” said Ed Hardy, President of the CMA Board of Directors.

Hosted for the sixth time by Brad Paisley and Carrie Underwood, “The 47th Annual CMA Awards” airs tonight (8:00-11:00 PM/ET) on the ABC Television Network.

Winning CMA Musical Event of the Year was Tim McGraw with Taylor Swift and Keith Urban for “Highway Don’t Care.”

“Highway Don’t Care,” which was directed by Shane Drake, also won CMA Music Video of the Year for McGraw, Swift and Urban.

This marked the second year the categories were announced on “Good Morning America.” In previous years, the winners were announced in pre-televised activities and acknowledged during the CMA Awards broadcast. CMA Vocal Duo of the Year nominees Thompson Square will host pre-tel ceremonies tonight and will present the trophies to the winners as well as Musician of the Year and CMA Broadcast Awards winners for Radio Station and Radio Personality of the Year. The recipients will be acknowledged during the broadcast and participate in backstage media interviews.

For information, visit Or follow the conversation on Twitter at #CMAawards.