Photo attached includes (top l-r): Jason Aldean; Brian Philips (President, CMT); Rob Lowe, Host; Charles Kelley; Brad Paisley; Dave Haywood; John Hamlin, SVP Music Events & Talent, CMT; Rac Clark, Executive Producer; Taylor Swift; Kenny Chesney; Hillary Scott Photo Credit: Rick Diamond

CMT will honor Jason Aldean, Kenny Chesney, Lady Antebellum, Brad Paisley and Taylor Swift as the top artists of the year in the new 90-minute special, CMT ARTISTS OF THE YEAR. Taping in Nashville, CMT ARTISTS OF THE YEAR will bring the honorees together with their peers, as well as celebrities from across the entertainment spectrum for a glamorous evening of star-studded performances from the country world and beyond, all in celebration of the successes of the past year.

CMT ARTISTS OF THE YEAR honorees are chosen by ranking the top five artists based on the following criteria: sales (physical albums, digital albums, and single downloads); country radio airplay based on spins; concert grosses as a headliner or co-headliner; and activity on (video streams, searches, and artist page views). The rankings are then compiled to identify the leading performers across the four categories cumulatively. CMT ARTISTS OF THE YEAR is executive-produced by John Hamlin and Margaret Comeaux for CMT.

CMT ARTISTS OF THE YEAR premieres Tuesday, December 13 at 9:00 p.m., ET/PT.