Pictured are (l-r): BMI’s Clay Bradley, Song of the Year co-writer Dallas Davidson, BMI President & CEO Del Bryant, EMI Music Publishing’s Big John Platt and Ben Vaughn, Josh Turner, Song of the Year co-writer Rhett Akins, EMI Music Publishing’s Tom Luteran, and BMI’s Jody Williams. Photo Credit John Russell

Multi-platinum recording artist Josh Turner’s fourth #1 single “All Over Me” was honored as BMI’s “Song of the Year” last night. The award honored the infamous “Peach Pickers” trio-  Ben Hayslip, Dallas Davidson and Rhett Akins. The song is on Turner’s current album Haywire. In addition, Akins and Davidson took home the prestigious BMI “Songwriter of the Year” crown.

“I couldn’t be prouder for Ben, Dallas and Rhett,” said Josh Turner. “They are tearing up this town, and are all so deserving to have been named ASCAP and BMI’s Songwriters of the Year.”

“Brian Wright (VP, A&R, Universal Music Group) at my label sent me the song. I thought it was a really fun song and it was different than anything I’d ever done,” added Josh Turner. “On tracking day, Gordon Mote started it off with that incredible piano intro and I thought to myself, my wife Jennifer’s gonna kill him because she’s going to have to play that every night! Aubrey Haynie suggested we go to the 5 chord on the solo and when they did, he played that fiddle part and I remember Bryan Sutton saying, ‘That’s gonna to be huge!’ I reckon he spoke it into existence.”

“All Over Me” was also honored as one of ASCAP’s Top Five Most Played songs of 2011 and Hayslip was honored as ASCAP’s “Songwriter of the Year” at the ASCAP Awards ceremonies held Sunday night.

Turner, one of the format’s most consistent hit makers, has a knack for choosing some of country music’s hottest and most popular songs. His previous single, the 4-week #1 hit “Why Don’t We Just Dance,” was the Most Played Song of the Year for 2010, according to Mediabase.

Look for the debut single release from Turner’s upcoming new album coming this January 2012.