Kenny Chesney Named ‘Tennessean Of The Year’

Country music singer and Award Winning songwriter Kenny Chesney has been named to receive the ‘Tennessean of the Year’ award to be presented Feb. 11 in Nashville by the Tennessee Sports Hall of Fame, according to a recent announcement made by Bill Emendorfer, President Tennessee Sports Hall of Fame.

In making the announcement, Emendorfer said “Tennessean of the Year, first awarded by the Hall of Fame in 1982, honors an individual or organization that has made significant contributions to our society through sports or other methods, demonstrating strong character and high profile leadership.”

Some of the more notables to have received the award include the first winner Barbara Mandrell (1982) Lamar Alexander (1986), Pat Summitt (1988); Cybil Shepherd (1993); Vince Gill (1995); Jon Sunquist (1996); Philip Bredesen (1997); Peyton Manning (1998); 101st.Airborne Division (Air Assault) (2002); Jim Haslam (2006) and Hank Williams Jr. (2007).

The 2011 Tennessee Sports Hall of Fame Awards Banquet will be held on Feb. 11 in the Renaissance Hotel in Nashville. Reservations may be made by contacting Lynn Powell Toy at the Hall of Fame Museum. (615) 242-4750 or