Keith Urban Talks About His 6th Studio Album ‘Get Closer’

Keith Urban’s Get Closer, to be released on November 16th, is the sixth studio recording from the three-time Grammy Award winner. It follows two previous consecutive Billboard country and pop #1 albums, as well as five previous solo efforts all of which have been certified platinum or multi-platinum. His last effort, 2009’s Defying Gravity, spun off five Top Five hits, including the chart-toppers “Sweet Thing” and “Only You Can Love Me This Way” bringing his total of #1 songs to eleven. His newest single from Get Closer, “Put You In A Song,” currently stands at #22 on the Billboard Country Singles Chart.

On Get Closer, Urban dives even deeper into the explorations of love and relationships that have served to establish him as one of the world’s biggest country music stars – while also extending his rock & roll side, as his hard-charging guitar work reaches new heights.

“On Defying Gravity I started touching upon the theme of the courage to love,” he says. “It’s all well and good to say, ‘I can’t find anybody to love, I wish I could find someone to love.’ But do I have the courage to love? Am I willing to open my heart and give the sword to my partner and go, ‘All right, I trust you, absolutely and completely?’”

But the ambition for Get Closer is made explicit right on the cover. “For me the title is multi-faceted,” says Urban, “because my instincts have always been to run from the things that are good for me, to run from love. I have always run from intimacy, and marriage has been a real awakening for me in looking at that very differently. That’s what the title refers to.”

The general retail release of Get Closer is contained in eight songs produced with long-time collaborator Dann Huff. It blends such chugging rockers as “Long Hot Summer,” “You Gonna Fly” and the CDs first single, “Put You in a Song,” with more emotionally complex and nuanced compositions like “Right on Back to You” and “Georgia Woods.”   In addition, Target will be offering an enhanced version, which contains seven extra songs comprised of three additional brand new studio tracks and four live tracks taken from Urban’s “Love, Pain & the whole crazy World Tour.”

But as Get Closer illustrates, rather than rely on formula, Urban continues to innovate with his music. The sound of the album expands the contrast between old and new styles that has underpinned much of his previous work. Some of the sonic experimentation, though, was the result of more than just creative ambition. “I used a lot of new guitars this time, because all of mine got lost in the flood,” says Urban. “It was a real blessing in the end, because it got me out of my comfort zone, and I was really focused on making music, and not what we were making it with.”

Track Listing
1. Put You In A Song (3:39)
2. You Gonna Fly (3:36)
3. All For You (3:37)
4. Long Hot Summer (4:32)
5. Without You (3:54)
6. Georgia Woods (5:17)
7. Right On Back To You (4:47)
8. Shut Out The Lights (4:16)

9. Big Promises (3:47)
10. The Luxury Of Knowing (4:14)
11. Winning (3:38)

12. Once In A Lifetime (7:09)
13. You Look Good In My Shirt (5:18)
14. Better Life (5:42)
15. Everybody (6:55)