2010 CMA Broadcast Personality Of The Year & Radio Station Of The Year Awards Winners Announced

Little Big Town, a 2010 nominee for CMA Vocal Group of the Year, and Chris Young, a 2010 CMA Award nominee for Best New Artist of the Year, delivered good news today to radio stations and broadcast professionals across the United States.

The CMA Broadcast Personality of the Year and CMA Radio Station of the Year recipients will be recognized during “The 44th Annual CMA Awards,” airing live Wednesday, Nov. 10 (8:00-11:00 PM/ET) on the ABC Television Network from the Bridgestone Arena in Nashville, Tenn.
The CMA Broadcast Personality and CMA Radio Station of the Year winners were notified live on the stations’ studio lines by Little Big Town. The CMA Broadcast Awards finalists were announced in August by Steel Magnolia.
“It’s so much fun to be a part of giving people great news this morning. We’re honored to be handing out the CMA broadcast awards to our friends all over the country,” said Little Big Town’s Karen Fairchild.
“We are thrilled to be able to honor Country radio,” said Steve Moore, CMA Chief Executive Officer. “While there are quite a few familiar faces among the broadcast personality winners, it is exciting to see so many radio stations winning for the first time. It speaks to the great job these broadcasters are doing in their individual markets.”
Young notified Lon Helton, host of CMT’s Country Countdown USA with Lon Helton, of his win for CMA National Broadcast Personality of the Year during a taping of the weekly countdown program.
“I’m thrilled and humbled to be accepting this CMA Award for the fifth time,” said Helton. “Country is blessed to have a wealth of great national air personalities. To go through a two-level judging process amidst all that talent and be judged worthy of this incredible distinction is truly an honor, and one that I deeply cherish.” 
2010 CMA Broadcast Personality of the Year Winners:
National – Lon Helton, CMT’s Country Countdown USA with Lon Helton (Westwood One). This is the fifth trophy for Helton, having won in 2002, 2004, 2006, and 2008.
Major Market – Lisa Dent and Ramblin’ Ray Stevens, “Lisa Dent and Ramblin’ Ray in the Morning,” WUSN, Chicago, Ill. (CBS Radio, Inc.). This is the second win for Dent, having taken home a trophy in 2005.
Large Market – Gerry House, Mike Bohan, Richard Falklen, Al Voecks, and Duncan Stewart, “The House Foundation,” WSIX, Nashville, Tenn. (Clear Channel Communications). This will be the fourth trophy for House, having won a trophy on his own in 1985, and with the House Foundation in 2005 and 2008.
Medium Market – Andy Ritchie, Alison Mencer, and Jimmy Holt, “Andy & Alison and the Morning Crew,” WIVK, Knoxville, Tenn. (Citadel Communications Corp.). Ritchie and Mencer have won this award four times, in 1999, 2002 and 2005 and with Holt in 2008.
Small Market – Bill Poindexter and Melissa Turner, “The Dex and Mo Show,” WUSY, Chattanooga, Tenn. (Clear Channel Communications). This will be win number three for Poindexter, having won in 1999 and 2005. It is the first win for Turner.
2010 CMA Radio Station of the Year Winners:
Major Market – KWJJ, Portland, Ore. KWJJ is a first time nominee and winner.
Large Market – KAJA, San Antonio Texas. KAJA has been a finalist three times and the station’s first win.
Medium Market – WIVK, Knoxville, Tenn. A perennial favorite, this station has been a finalist twelve times and this is their eighth, having taken home the trophy in 1987, 1999, 2000, 2001, 2004, 2006, and 2008.
Small Market – WGSQ, Cookeville, Tenn. This will be the third win for this WGSQ, having won the award in 2006 and 2008.
Congratulations to all these winners!! More winners to be announced on the evening of November 10th during the 44th Annual CMA Awards.